Best Candidates In WASSCE (LIST)

The West African Exami­nations Council (WAEC) has unveiled winners of its National Distinction and Merit Awards for the May/June 2015 West African Senior School Cer­tificate Examination (WASSCE) .
Master Babalola David Olu­wasayo, Master Alabi Philip Toluwase and Miss Nkata Lewe­chi Ugonma emerged first, sec­ond and third respectively among over a million candidates that sat for the May/June 2015 WASSCE.
Announcing the winners dur­ing its 54th Annual Meeting of Nigeria National Committee of WAEC held in Lagos, the Head, National Office, WAEC, Mr Olu Adenipekun revealed that Baba­lola who emerged first in eight subjects scored 673,7626; Alabi came second by scoring 667,1802, while Nkata emerged third by scoring 660,2430.
He further disclosed that Ba­balola who is presently study­ing Medicine and Surgery at the University of Ibadan (UI), had his secondary education at Oritame­fa Baptist Model School, Ibadan, Oyo State.
Similarly, Alabi who attended Our Lady and St Francis Catho­lic College, Osogbo, Osun State, is also studying Medicine and Sur­gery at the UI, while Nkata from Loyola Jesuit College, Abuja, is presently studying Chemical en­gineering at the University of Bir­mingham, United Kingdom.
However, none of the awardees was physically present to receive the awards, as it was reported that they were busy with exam­inations in their various institu­tions. They were all represented by their parents and siblings.
Also, awards were presented to the outstanding schools that produced the overall best and fe­male winners in the examination, among others.
While Oritamefa Baptist Mod­el School won the Omo N’Oba Erediauwa Coronation Trophy for producing the best male can­didate, Loyola Jesuit College, Abuja, won Omo N’Oba Eredi­auwa Coronation Trophy for pro­ducing the best female candidate. Loyola Jesuit College also won the Augustus Bamidele Oyediran tro­phy for producing the best over­all results in the May/June exam­ination.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *