JAMB UTME 2011 Applicants By University: UNILAG tops with 99,195 applicants

UTME 2011 Applicants By University: UNILAG tops with 99,195 applicants
Out of the 117 universities in the country listed by JAMB to which UTME candidates sought placements for the 2011/2012 academic session, University of Lagos (UNILAG) was the preferred first choice with 99,195 applicants.

But the carrying capacity of UNILAG is merely about 9,000 students. While the current admission quota allocated by NUC since 2009/2010 is 6,106.

Following closely is Ahmadu Bello University, Zaria with 89,760 applicants was allocated 6,068, while University of Nigeria, Nsukka, trails with 88,177, given 5,970 allocation, Nnamdi Azikiwe University, Awka, is fourth with 84,719, University of Benin,

Benin City had 80,976 with allocated quota of 6,100, and Obafemi Awolowo University, Ile-Ife, with 70,935 candidates choosing this institution. University of Port Harcourt 65,731 applicants, University of Ilorin 65,213, University of Ibadan had 48,281 and Bayero University, Kano with 40,849, completes the top 10 preferred universities of UTME candidates.

Gift Cards

According to JAMB source, others are University of Uyo 40,495, University of Calabar, Calabar 38,919, Delta State University, Abraka 36,433, Benue State University, Makurdi 30,522, Nasarawa State University, Keffi 30,350, University of Ado-Ekiti 29,627,

Federal University of Techynology, Owerri 29,491, University of Abuja, Abuja 29,205, University of Maiduguri 27,050, Kogi State University, Anyigba 26,999, University of Jos, Jos 24,645, Usman Danfodio University, Sokoto 23,332, Adekunle Ajasin University, Ayingba-Akoko 22,689, Niger Delta University, Wilberforce Island 20,586, and Federal University of Technology, Akure 19,229.

Ambrose Alli University, Ekpoma had 18,679 applicants, Ladoke Akintola University, Ogbomoso 18,295, Federal University of Technology, Minna 16,789, Kaduna State University, Kaduna 16,338, Lagos State University, Ojo 12,767, Federal University of Technology, Yola 12,714,

Umaru Musa Yar’Adua University, Katsina 11,766, University of Agriculture, Abeokuta 11,091, Cross Rivers State University of Technology, Calabar 9,885, Federal University of Agriculture, Makurdi 9,651, Abia State University, Uturu, 9,203, Evan Enwerem University, Owerri 8,641,

Michael Okpara University of Agriculture, Umudike, 8,639, Abubakar Tafawa Balewa University, Bauchi 8,548, Ebonyi State University, Abakaliki 8,122, Ibrahim Badamasi Babangida University, Lapai 8,089, Gombe State University, Tundu-Wada, Gombe 7,050, Enugu State University of Science and Technology, Enugu with 6,865,

Olabisi Onabanjo University, Ago-Iwoye 6,356, Federal University, Lafia, Nasarawa State 5,661, Adamawa State University, Mubi 5,328, Osun State University, Osogbo 5,280, Federal University, Otuoke, Bayelsa State (created in 2010) 5,145, Tai Solarin University of Education, Ijagun 5,041, and Taraba State University, Jalingo 4,078.

Covenant University, Canaan Land, Ota with 3,499 applicants tops the other private universities.

Anambra State University, Uli 3,482, Federal University of Petroleum Resources, Effurun 3,446, Federal University, Ndufu – Alike, Ebonyi State 2,930, Rivers State University of Science and Technology, Port-Harcourt 2,869, Bukar Abba Ibrahim University, Damaturu 1,758, Kwara State University, Malete, Ilorin 1,6007,

Federal University, Lokoja, Kogi State 1,506, Kano University of Science and Technology, Wudil 1,462, Babcock University, Ilishan-Remo 1,395, Akwa Ibom State University, Ikot-Akpaden 1,331, Ondo State University of Science and Technology, Okitipupa 444, Federal University, Datsin-Ma, Katsina 393, American University of Nigeria, Yola 392, Redeemers University 354,

University of Science and Technology, Ifaki-Ekiti 336, Afe Babalola University, Ado Ekiti 313,Bingham University, Karu 290, Bells University of Technology, Ota 173, Federal University, Oye-Ekiti 171, Lead City University, Ibadan 128, Plateau State University, Bokkos 128, Al-Hikmah University, Ilorin 123, Ajayi Crowther University, Oyo 122, National Open University, Nigeria 107, Salem University, Lokoja 90, Veritas University,

Abuja 88, Crawford University, Igbesa 75, Achievers University, Owo 72, Oduduwa University, Ipetumodu 67, Fountain University, Osogbo 53, Novena University, Ogume 53, Landmark University, Omu-Aran, Kwara State 52, University of Education, Ikere-Ekiti 52, Western Delta University, Oghara, Delta State 49, Caleb University, Imota 46, Joseph Ayo Babalola University, Ikeji-Arakeji 34.

At the rear of them all are Paul University Awka with 21 applicants, Renaissance University, Ojiagu – Agbani, Enugu 21, Wesley University of Science and Technology, Ondo 21, and Adeleke University, Ede, Osun State 13.
Source: Vanguard Newspapers
Click here to receive Post UTME updates


  1. sorry to all those who followd d comment to apply wit score blow 200 to 180. The sch has refusd 2 accpt it, tht is why ur form wont nt show all d informatn.
    The exam did start on the 13th of Aug. Wit computer science. Pls follow d date, time & venue on ur forms.
    There were 40 questn, 25 eng., 15 maths & general paper.
    The time given was 30 min. The questns was selected at random by the computer to each candidate.
    For more info abt d postutme as it happens call 07065282617


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here