Scholarships: Commonwealth Academic Fellowships for Developing Countries 2012

The UK Department for International Development (DFID) funds the 2012 Commonwealth Academic Fellowships for mid-career academics from developing countries to spend periods of up to six months at a UK academic institution.

Each year, the CSC invites each nominating university/university body to forward a specific number of nominations. Each nominating university/university body is responsible for its own selection process, and in most cases they will set a closing date in the months preceding the CSC’s deadline for nominations (21 December 2011). In most instances, nominations for Commonwealth Academic Fellowships are made by specific developing country universities, which are responsible for advertising the fellowships amongst their staff.

Selection Criteria for 2012

Applications are considered according to the following selection criteria:

Academic merit of the candidate
Quality of the proposal
Likely impact of the work on the development of the candidate’s home country
Terms and conditions and eligibility
The CSC would like to draw candidates’ particular attention to a change in the Commonwealth Academic Fellowships scheme this year. Since their inception, the main objective of these fellowships has been the career development of recipients, through the building of new skills and contacts. (Conducting research has never been a major aim, although, of course, where fellowships do lead to joint research and publications, this is most welcome.) The CSC believes that the core objectives of the scheme can normally be achieved within three months. As a result, from 2012, Commonwealth Academic Fellowships will be of three months’ duration, rather than six. If more than three months is requested, justification is required for the extra time. The CSC anticipates that this will also enable more high-quality candidates to be supported by the scheme.

How to apply
All applications must be made through your nominating university/university body in your home country. You must check with them in the first instance for specific advice on how to make an application and for their own closing dates. The CSC cannot accept any applications direct from candidates.
The CSC expects all candidates who are nominated for a Commonwealth Academic Fellowship to have completed an application form using the Electronic Application System (EAS).

Application Deadline
The EAS will close to applicants on 7 December 2011 and no further applications can be made after that date.

For more details check the Commonwealth Academic Fellowships prospectus 2012


  1. Greetings. It has come to my notice that many Nigerians need financial assistance for their studies, yet they find it too difficult to get. To all who have the ability to sponsore our fellow Nigerians, please do. Don’t leave everything in the hands of our weak /wilting govement. GOD BLESS YOU!