ACN Wins All 57 Chairmanship Seats In Lagos

THE 57 Action Congress of Nigeria, ACN chairmanship candidates in last Saturday, October 22, 2011 Local Government election in Lagos State were, yesterday, declared to have won all the seats in the 20 Local Government Areas and 37 Local Council Development Areas, LCDAs barely 48 hours after the conclusion of the exercise.

According to the results which were, however, declared amidst protests, 355 councillorship candidates of ACN won the seats in the 376 wards, the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP councillorship candidates won 16 seats, Congress for Progress Change, CPC won two seats while ward H in Mushin Local Government Area was declared inconclusive.

The chairman of the Lagos State Independent Electoral Commission, LASIEC Justice Abdulfatai Adeyinka (rtd) who announced the results at a late evening media briefing at the commission’s secretariat, said his commission could not announce the results earlier because it needed to get its figures right. He said though he was the chief electoral officer of the state, the announcement of the results was the duty of the returning officers at the various council areas. Section 5(1)-(8) of the LASIEC law states that election results can only be announced at the polling units, Ward collation centre and the local government areas.

When asked about the protest by the PDP supporters over discrepancies against LASIEC officials involved in the exercise especially in Ikoyi Obalende and Badagry council areas, LASIEC boss said: “an electoral Tribunal has been set up and any aggrieved parties should go to election tribunal for the determination of their legal right.”
Source: Vanguard Newspapers