PDP’s Murtala Nyako wins Adamawa governorship election

Murtala Nyako, the former governor of Adamawa state reclaimed his seat just ten days after he was sacked from office.

Nyako won 13 out of the 21 local government areas in the state, while ACN won eight.

By winning the majority of votes and 25% of votes in two-thirds of the local government areas in the state, Murtala Nyako has fulfilled the constitutional requirements to be pronounced winner of the governorship election in the state.

With results from the 21 local government areas in the state collated, Murtala Nyako of the ruling PDP got 302, 986 votes to defeat his closest challenger, ACN’s Markus Gundiri, who polled 260,405 votes. The candidate of CPC, Buba Marwa, polled 107,564 votes.

The state’s returning officer, Prof Mohammed H. Mohammed, Vice-Chancellor of the Abubakar Tafawa Balewa University, is now being awaited to officially announce the result of the election.

The ACN has swiftly cried foul play as  a Mr. Sonny, the ACN returning officer, alleged there were alterations in some result sheets and hinted that his party might challenge the result in court.