Mike Adenuga, 148 other Nigerians for National Honours Awards

The Chairman of Globacom Limited, Chief Mike Adenuga, has topped the list of 149 awardees that will be conferred with National Honours this year by President Goodluck Jonathan on the 17th of September.

Statement by Dr Henry Akpan, Permanent secretary (Special Duties) Office of the Secretary to the Government of the Federation (SGF), has revealed that Adenuga will be the only recipient of the GCON award this year, according to. The business mogul would be the second businessman to bag the GCON award, the second highest national award in Nigeria, after Alhaji Aliko Dangote, who was so honoured last year.

The occasion, which is billed for the International Conference Centre, Abuja, will have the remaining 148 awardees receiving the following awards: 11 will receive the CFR award; 25 will receive the CON award; 38 will receive the OON award; 38 will receive the MFR award; and 12 will receive the MON award.

Some of the prominent names on the list this year include: Supreme Justice, Mary Odili (CFR); Inspector General of Police, MD Abubakar (CFR); retired Supreme Court Justices Kayode Eso and Andrews Otutu Obaseki (CFR); Brig-General Mobolaji Johnson and Chief Gabriel Igbinedion (CFR).



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here