Nigeria Missing As Nominees For 2012 BBC African Footballer Of The Year Are Unveiled

British Broadcasting Corporation (BBC), has released a five-man shortlist for their 2012 African Footballer of the Year Award.

Only Didier Drogba, who won the award in 2009, is the past winner included. The rest are: Moroccan Younes Belhanda (Montpellier), Ivorian Yaya Toure (Manchester City), Senegalese Demba Ba (Newcastle United) and Christopher Katongo, who won this year’s African Cup of Nations with Zambia.

Yaya Toure is making the shortlist for the second consecutive year.

The winner will be announced on December 17, after voting online. Black Stars midfielder, Andre Ayew, won the 2011 edition.

Previous winners of BBC African Footballer of the Year award:

2011 – Andre ‘Dede’ Ayew (Marseille & Ghana)

2010 – Asamoah Gyan (Sunderland & Ghana)

2009 – Didier Drogba (Chelsea & Ivory Coast)

2008 – Mohamed Aboutrika (Al Ahly & Egypt)

2007 – Emmanuel Adebayor (Arsenal & Togo)

2006 – Michael Essien (Chelsea & Ghana)

2005 – Mohamed Barakat (Al Ahly & Egypt)

2004 – Jay Jay Okocha (Bolton & Nigeria)

2003 – Jay Jay Okocha (Bolton & Nigeria)

2002 – El Hadji Diouf (Liverpool & Senegal)

2001 – Sammy Kuffour (Bayern Munich & Ghana)

2000 – Patrick Mboma (Parma & Cameroon)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here