Ekiti Dissolves all 16 Local Government Caretaker Committees, Constitute New Ones

fayemiEkiti State governor, Kayode Fayemi, has dissolved the caretaker committees of the 16 local government areas of the state, with the state House of Assembly saying it has approved the reconstitution of the committees.

The Speaker of the Assembly, Dr Adewale Omirin, according to a statement made available to newsmen in Ado Ekiti, “read a letter from the governor notifying the House of the need to reconstitute the committees so as not to give room for vacuum at the third tier of government.”

According to the statement, it was the Majority Leader of the assembly, Mr Churchill Adedipe, who moved the motion for the approval of the reconstitution, pointing out that the action was based on the provision of “Section 4 sub section 4 of the Local Government Transition Committee Law of Ekiti State.” The motion, seconded by Honourable Seyi Shittu, representing Ado Constituency 1 was supported by other members of the assembly.

The statement continues: “The lawmakers described the constitution of transition committees to oversee the affairs of governance at the local government level in Ekiti State as a child of necessity.” The lawmakers also said the current litigation on the composition of the State Independent Electoral Commission (SIEC) justified the re-composition of caretaker committees at the councils, saying their reconstitution was “in the interest of people at the grass roots.” In the meantime, Governor Fayemi has appointed new caretaker committees for the 16 local government areas of the state, following the sacking of the previous chairmen.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here