Nebo Out, Ben Chuks and Two Others in as The Three Newly Established Get VCs.

PRESIDENT Goodluck Jonathan has approved has approved the appointment of Vice Chancellors and Registrars for the three newly established universities in Kebbi, Yobe and Zamfara states.

According to statement released by the Permanent Secretary, Federal Ministry of Education, Dr. MacJohn Nwaobiala, the Minister of Education, Prof. Ruqayyatu, gave the names of the new Vice Chancellors as: Professor Shehu AbdulRahman (Federal University, Gashua,); Professor Lawal Suleiman Bilbis (Federal University, Birnin Kebbi,); Professor Ben Chuks Okeke (Federal University, Gusau,)

The Minister further stated that Jonathan also approved the appointment of Professor Isaac Asuzu to replace Prof. Chinedu Nebo as Vice Chancellor Federal University, Oye-Ekiti. Nebo was recently appointed Minister of Power and Steel. The Minister gave the names of the Registrars as: Alhaji Sule Dauda (Federal University, Gashua); Mr. Ibrahim Mungadi (Federal University, Birnin Kebbi) and Mr. Ibrahim Bawa Kaura (Federal University, Gusau).

The Minister said that the choice of the new Vice Chancellors and the Registrars followed the laid down rules that require a Vice Chancellor to among others, “be an experienced former Vice Chancellor or Deputy Vice Chancellor with sufficient schorlarship and leadership, back with an area of specialisation relevant to pimary area of focus of the new university.”