APC Fails First Test as Abuja Council Polls Results are Released

Mohammadu_Buhari_5As it appears, the newly formed APC might have failed its first real test in the political terrain in the country following the recently held Local Government elections in the Federal Capital Territory (FCT).

At the conclusion of the exercise, most of the parties under the newly formed coalition were nowhere to be found. The ruling Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) won five chairmanship seats in the Federal Capital Territory (FCT), Abuja Area council election with 44 councillors emerging, while the All Nigerian People’s Party (ANPP) won one chairmanship seat and 10 councillorship seats. The ruling PDP however mocked the opposition political parties, saying that the outcome of the election was an indication that Nigerians had rejected the much-touted move to form a mega party.

A statement by Mr Okeize Nwankwo, Head of Public Affairs of the FCT INEC, revealed that the Action Congress of Nigeria (ACN) and Congress for the Progressive Change (CPC) had three councillors each, with three outstanding seats. According to the statement, PDP won the chairmanship seats of the Abuja Municipal Area Council (AMAC), Abaji Area Council, Kuje Area Council, Bwari Area Council and Kwali Area Council, while the ANPP won the chairmanship seat of Gwagwalada Area Council. It added that the PDP won 11 councillorship seats in AMAC, while the CPC had one seat; in Abaji, PDP had six councillorship seats, ACN, three, while one was outstanding.

In Gwagwalada, according to the statement, ANPP had eight councillorship seats, PDP, two; Kuje, PDP had nine councillorship seats and one outstanding; Bwari: PDP, seven councillorship seats, CPC, one and in Kwali, PDP had nine councillorship seats, while ANPP had one. Speaking through its national publicity secretary, Chief Olisa Metuh, in a statement in Abuja, on Sunday, the PDP said the victory was a landslide, adding that the opposition had failed.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here