2011 Post-Election Violence: FG Disburses N5.7bn To Eight States

jonathan_goodluck3-300x225The sum of N5.747bn was released by the Federal Government on Thursday to eight out of the 13 states affected by the post-2011 presidential election violence in Nigeria.

Vice President Namadi Sambo who presented cheques to representatives of the affected states at the Presidential Villa, Abuja, said “It  is with deepest sense of sorrow that President Goodluck Jonathan and indeed the entire government and people of Nigeria remain deeply pained by the violent acts and civil disturbances which necessitated today’s event”.

The breakdown of the disbursement showed that Bauchi State collected N1,574,879,000; Zamfara State – 93,253, 485.00; Niger State – N433,375,875; Jigawa State – N208,667, 634.00; Katsina State – N1,973,209,440.00; Kano State – N944,827,000.00; Adamawa State – N420,089,840.00; and Akwa Ibom State – N43,504,000.00.

Borno, Yobe, Nassarawa, Gombe and Kaduna states are expected to get their disbursements at a later date.

Sambo expressed regrets that the violence erupted despite all the efforts put into ensuring that the elections were free and fair.

The Federal Government approved the disbursement of financial assistance to the victims after a painstaking process of assessments, verification and collaboration with the concerned states following the recommendations of the Sheikh Ahmed Lemu panel on the 2011 election violence and civil disturbances.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *