Council Polls: PDP Clears Chairmanship Seats In Kogi

kogi_stateThe Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) has cruised to victory in last Saturday’s council polls in Kogi State by clinching all the chairmanship positions in all the 21 Local Government Areas of the state.

Opposition parties won 14 councillorship seats in Yagba East, Ibaji, Ijum, Kabba/Bunu Yagba West and Mopamoro Local Governments despite their touted boycott of the council elections.

Declaring the results, the Kogi State Independent Electoral Commission, KOSIEC chairman, Abraham Olaniran, said PDP won the chairmanship seats in Adavi, Ajaokuta, Kogi, Lokoja, Yagba East, Ibaji, Yagba West, Ijumu, Ogorimagogo, Mopamoro and Okene Local Governments.

Declaring the PDP winner in other local governments such as Kabba/Bunu, Olamaboro, Omala, Dekina, Ankpa, Idah, ofu, Bassa, Okehi and Igalamela Local Governments, Olaniran said the results of the election were collated at the units adding that the candidates having scored the highest votes, were declared winners in their various councils.