Obuh Names 21-Man Squad for 2013 World Cup in Turkey.

Turkey 2013.
Turkey 2013.

Flying Eagles coach John Sam Obuh has released the list of a final 21-man squad for the FIFA Under-20 World Cup to be held in Turkey later this month.

Most of the players that took part in the just concluded Toulon tournament in France were selected, as Olaitan Michael of Olympiakos Pireaus, John Felagha of Belgium side AS Eupen and Edafe Egbedi of AGF Arhus in Denmark are the foreign based players in the squad.

Danny Simon Ajala who recently signed a pre-contract with Dutch giants Ajax Amsterdam was also selected.

Abdul Ajagun, Ikechukwu Okorie, Pyagbara Christian, Alhaji Salisu Gero, Ovbokhva Agboyi and Aminu Umar, all regulars, made the final 21-man party for Turkey.

At the Toulon invitational, the Flying Eagles’ draw against eventual winners Brazil was their best performance, after they lost to Mexico and Portugal.

But coach Obuh was however philosophical about the tournament’s outcome and confident of a different run of form in the Turkey World Cup.

“I don’t place much emphasis on friendly games, moreover it gave me an opportunity to see other players and assess them, we will be ready,” the 53-year-old coach said.

“The experience I have from the finals in Colombia in 2011, or even from 2009, when we hosted the Under-17 World cup finals, is something that I can use now as we prepare for Turkey. It will also come to good use at the finals themselves.”

Nigeria will play in Group B of the FIFA Youth Championship in Kayseri, alongside, Portugal, Cuba and Korea Republic.

The full squad:

Goalkeepers: Chukwunenye Samuel Okani (Enyimba FC) Jonah Usman (ABS FC) John Felagha (AS Eupen)

Defenders: Wilfred Onyinye Ndidi (Nathalia Football Academy) Ikechukwu Okorie (Enyimba FC), Shehu Abdullahi (Kano Pillars) Chizoba Amaefule (Dolphins FC) Moses Orkuma (Lobi Stars FC) Kingsley Madu ( El-Kanemi Warriors FC )

Midfielders : Olaitan Michael (Olympiakos Piraeus) Uche Agbo (Enyimba FC) , Dumte Christian Pyagbara (Sharks FC), Ovbokha Agboyi (Bayelsa United FC), Abdul Ajagun ( Dolphins FC ) Chidi Osuchukwu ( Dolphins FC)

Attackers: Alhaji Salisu Gero (Enugu Rangers) Aminu Umar (Wikki Tourists FC) Moses Simon Ajala ( Aminci Academy ) Edafe Egbedi (AGF Arhus) Samuel Eduok (Dolphins FC) Olanrewaju Kayode (unattached),