Sprint Queen Okagbare Wins Fifth Consecutive 100m Title in Calabar.

Blessing Okagbare.
Blessing Okagbare.

Beijing Olympics bronze medalist, Blessing Okagbare, made history at the UJ Esuene Stadium in Calabar on Wednesday by becoming the first female athlete to win the 100m title for the fifth successive time in modern times, returning a record time of 11.25 seconds.

Her historical victory in the annual Cross River State/ All Nigeria Athletics championships confirms her rating as the new Queen of the Tracks.

Gloria Asumnu finished second behind Okagbare in a time of 11.47secs while home grown talent, Peace Akor, finished with a time of 11.67secs.

The 3-day athletics meeting also serves as the trials for the World Championships in Moscow as some other events have been decided already.

Okoro Patience of Edo State won the Javelin women’s final with a distance of 41.87m, followed by Priscilla Zever (Benue) who made a throw of 40.96m while Enimuo Chioma (Anambra) came third with the distance of 37.01m.

Kefas Williams of Nigeria Police won the 10,000m men event with 31:19.96. Ismail Sadjo (31:21.20) and Goyet Gideon (31:21.48) came second and third respectively.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here