FG Issues Flood Alert For 14 States Within A Week

flood codes 003Heavy rainfall which may result in flooding is expected in 14 states from July 30 to Aug. 6, in the northern part of the country, the Federal Ministry of Environment announced in Abuja on Monday.

According to a statement, the affected states are Benue, Kebbi, Gombe, Zamfara, Yobe, Jigawa, Borno, Katsina, Bauchi, Kano, Sokoto, Kaduna, Taraba and Adamawa.

Many towns are also expected to be flooded in these states.

The ministry appealed to government and people of the prone areas to take all necessary precautionary measures to avoid any disaster.

It added that adherence to similar warnings in the past had saved lives and property. (NAN)