Okon Names 40 for Falcons’ Camp Ahead of Japan Friendly.

Super Falcons caretaker coach, Edwin Okon, has invited 40 players to camp for the two international friendly matches against Japan next month.

Stella Mbachu.
Stella Mbachu.

The Rivers Angels handler, who was handed the reins of the senior women national team by the Nigeria Football Federation (NFF) last week, chose a mixture of young and promising talents and some veterans to make up his list for the encounters, which come up on September 22 and 26.

Nigeria has had a poor run of form in women football, both on the continent and global stages in recent times, having failed to qualify for the 2011 All African Games and the 2012 London Olympics Games, bearing in mind her dismal performance at the last edition of the African Women’s Championships (AWC) in Equatorial Guinea.

Stella Mbachu, Esther Sunday, Gloria Iroka, Osinachi Ohale, Evelyn Nwabuoku and Blessing Edoho are among the regular names called up for the friendly match as upcoming talents like, Prudent Ugoh, Yetunde Aluko, Ngozi Okobi and Asisat Oshoala among others were also invited.

All invited players are expected to arrive in Abuja on Tuesday August 27.


Goalkeepers: Dikachi Uzor (Delta Queens); Ibebuleye Whyte (Rivers Angels); Charity John (Rivers Angels); Sangonuga (Nasarawa Amazons); Damilola Akano (Sunshine Queens)

Defenders: Ngozi Ebere (Rivers Angels); Blessing Edoho (Pelican Stars); Funsho Osurinayo (Sunshine Queens); Josephine Chukwunonye (Rivers Angels); Gladys Abasi (Ibom Queens); Rebecca Kalu (Rivers Angels); Margaret Dike (Nasarawa Amazons); Gloria Ofoegbu (Rivers Angels); Fasilat Adeyemo (Confluence Queens); Osinachi Ohale (Delta Queens); Maria Nwoko (Delta Queens); Gladys Akpa (Bayelsa Queens); Sarah (Delta Queens)

Midfielders: Maria Oke (FC Robo); Cecilia Nku (Bayelsa Queens); Asisat Oshoala (Rivers Angels); Ngozi Okobi (Delta Queens); Evelyn Nwabuoku (Rivers Angels); Onyinyechi Ohadugha (Rivers Angels); Prudent Ugoh (Nasarawa Amazons)

Forwards: Ebere Orji (Bayelsa Queens); Esther Sunday (Pelican Stars); Remi Leku (Confluence Queens); Maryam Ezenagu (C. I. Angels); Yetunde Aluko (Sunshine Queens); Maureen Godwin (Delta Queens); Mercy Amanze (Rivers Angels); Temitope Adebowale (FCT Queens); Stella Mbachu (Rivers Angels); Odunayo Isioma (Sunshine Queens); Amenze Aighewi (Rivers Angels); Glory Iroka (Rivers Angels); Halimat Ayinde (Delta Queens); Uchechi Sunday (Rivers Angels); Faustina Ugwuadu (Delta Queens)