26 Senators Pledge Loyalty To Baraje-Led Faction Of PDP

new-pdp-governorsThe Alhaji Abubakar Kawu Baraje-led faction of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) has received the backing of twenty-six serving Senators of the Federal Republic of Nigeria, who also hailed former Vice President Atiku Abubakar, six northern governors and Governor Chibuike Amaechi of Rivers state for storming out of the venue of Saturday’s Special National convention of the PDP.

In a statement yesterday, the senators said that , “By this decision that no doubt provides a soothing balm that will calm frail nerves in the party,  you have written your names in gold and will be remembered in our political history as men that stood to save the party and Nigeria’s democracy.

“We heartily rejoice with our patriots and eminent Nigerians led by former Vice President Atiku Abubakar GCON, and the Governors of Kano State, Alhaji Rabiu Kwankwaso, Aliyu Wammako, (Sokoto), Murtala Nyako (Adamawa), Sule Lamido (Jigawa), Muazu Babangida Aliyu (Niger), Abdul Fattah Ahmed (Kwara), and Chibuike Amaechi (Rivers), for the bold, swift and courageous step to reposition the People’s Democratic Party under a new leadership.

“We congratulate the new chairman, Alhaji  Abdulahi  Kawu Baraje,  the Deputy Chairman, Dr Sam Sam Jaja, National secretary, Prince Olagunsoye Oyinola and other members of the National Executive Committee for their emergence as leaders of our great  party.

“We therefore, pledge our unfettered loyalty to the Barage-led PDP National Executive.”

The senators that signed the statement are the Senate Chief Whip, Senator, Bello Hayatu Gwarzo, Kano North; Sen Mohammed Ali Ndume, Borno South; Sen. Ahmad Zannah, Borno Central;   Sen  Abdulahi Adamu, Nasarawa West; Sen  Abdulahi  Danladi Sankara, Jigawa North-West; Sen.  Abdulaziz Usman, Jigawa North East; Sen   Abdulmumini Mohammed Hassan,Jigawa South-West;  Sen   Umaru  Dahiru, Sokoto South; Sen   Ahmed Mohammed Maccido, Sokoto North; Sen  Muhammad Shaaba Lafiaji, Kwara North;   Sen   Simeon Sule Ajibola, Kwara South;  Sen  Abubakar Bukola Saraki, Kwara Central; Sen  Magnus Ngei Abe, Rivers South-East;  Sen Wilson Asinobi Ake, Rivers West;  Sen  Danjuma Mohammed Goje, Gombe Central;   Sen Saidu Ahmed Alkali, Gombe North;  Sen Ahmed Hassan Barata, Adamawa South; Sen   Bindowo Umar Mohammed Bindiwo Jibrilla, Adamawa North; Sen   Aisha Jummai Alhassan, Taraba North; Sen.  Ibrahim Abdullahi Gobir, Sokoto East; Sen.  Bashir Garba Mohammad,Kano Central; Sen.  Abdulaziz Usman, Jigawa North-East and Sen.  Isa Galaudu, Kebbi North.

It was also learnt that Senators Dahiru Kuta, Niger East and Zainab Kure, Niger South, have thrown their weights behind the Baraje-led PDP in solidarity of their governor, Aliyu Babangida.