IAAF Releases Lists of Candidates for the World Athlete of the Year Prize.

Mo Farah and Usain Bolt are on a list of 10 strong athletes shortlisted for the 2013 World Athlete of the Year award released by the International Association of Athletics Federations (IAAF).

Jamaican, Bolt, won three gold medals in Moscow, winning the 100m, 200m and 4×100m titles to become the most successful athlete in World Championships history with a career total of eight gold medals.

Briton, Farah succeeded in claiming the 5,000m and 10,000m at the Moscow World Championships in August and also set a new European and British record in Monaco.

Mo Farah and Usain Bolt Trading Poses at the London Olympics.
Mo Farah and Usain Bolt Trading Poses at the London Olympics.

Jamaican sprinter Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce heads the women’s list after winning three gold medals in Moscow in the 100m, 200m and 4×100m disciplines.

Ethiopia’s Meseret Defar, who added world 5000m gold to her Olympic title, also features, along with Valerie Adams of New Zealand, who claimed her fourth world title in the women’s shot put.

Newly crowned world marathon record holder, Wilson Kipsang, was also named in the ten-man shortlist. Kipsang put paid to Patrick Makau’s 2:03:38 record in the marathon race when he crossed the finish line in Berlin in 2:03:23.

The shortlists for both men and women athletes will be trimmed to three persons apiece with the winners to be revealed at the 2013 World Athletics Gala on November 16.


Mohammed Aman (ETH)

Usain Bolt (JAM)

Bohdan Bondarenko (UKR)

Ashton Eaton (USA)

Mohamed Farah (GBR)

Robert Harting (GER)

Wilson Kipsang (KEN)

Aleksandr Menkov (RUS)

LaShawn Merritt (USA)

Teddy Tamgho (FRA)


Valerie Adams (NZL)

Abeba Aregawi (SWE)

Meseret Defar (ETH)

Tirunesh Dibaba (ETH)

Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce (JAM)

Zuzana Hejnova (CZE)

Caterine Ibargüen (COL)

Sandra Perkovic (CRO)

Brianna Rollins (USA)

Svetlana Shkolina (RUS)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here