Imo House Of Assembly Confirms 12 Nominees As Commissioners

okorocha_mdgThe Imo House of Assembly on Wednesday in Owerri confirmed all the 12 persons nominated as commissioners by Gov. Rochas Okorocha.

The nominees were confirmed following their screening by the House and the recommendation of the 10-man screening committee chaired by the Deputy Speaker, Donatus Ozoemena.

“The nominees have been carefully scrutinised with special focus on their administrative experience and they have been found eligible for the appointments,’’ Ozoemena said.

Following the adoption of the committee’s report, the House’s Speaker, Mr Benjamin Uwajumogu, said the nominees would be invited to the floor of the House.

“This invitation will be after six months of their being given portfolios, and this will be to evaluate their performance,’’ he said.

The News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) reports that the nominees include Prof. Uba Nnabue, Mrs Mma Onyechere, Mr Nick Oparandudu, Mr Uche Nwosu and Mr Gerald Okorie,

Others are Mr Chike Okafor, Dr Uche Ejiogu, Lady Ugochi Nnana-Okoro, Dr Ifeanyi Nwachukwu, Chief UcheNna Mbanaso, Mr Kenneth Emelu and Prof. Okechukwu Okoro. (NAN)