LMC to Dole out N50m Merit Award to 2013 Glo Premier League Participants.

The League Management Company (LMC) has announced a total sum of N10 million will be given as reward to teams which took part in the 2012/13 Glo Premier League season, ending on Sunday. It will be the first time the champions of the Nigerian League will be earning prize money since its inception in 2005.

Chairman of the LMC, Hon. Nduka Irabor, disclosed the novel Merit Award on Friday, adding the need to sustain the competitive spirit witnessed in the “out-going” campaign has necessitated its introduction.

The 2013 Nigerian football league season is unique in many aspects such as the photo finish witnessed this time ‘round, when the winner could only be determined on the final match day of the season with three teams jostling for the N10m grand prize.

The League Management Company.
The League Management Company.

“It is an innovation we are bringing about to sustain if not raise the level of competitiveness witnessed in the out-going season and as we stabilise the league, the Merit Award will be reviewed upwards,” said Irabor.

The chairman further clarified the Merit Award is not the same as the appearance fee which is distributed evenly among the 20 participating clubs stressing: “the Merit Award will hopefully assist the clubs start preparation for next season’s activities and also help those being relegated settle for competition in the lower division.”

Breakdowns of the graduated payments imply that the runner-ups will earn N7.5m while the 2nd and 3rd runner-ups go home with N5m and N2.5m respectively.

The 5th, 6th, 7th- placed teams receive N2.1m, N1.95m and N1.9m. Further down are the 8th, 9th and 10th-placed teams, who make do with N1.85m, N1.8m and M1.75m respectively.

The 11th, 12th, and 13th-placed teams receive N 1.7m, N1.65m and N 1.6m. The rests: 14th (N1.5m), 15th (N1.4m), 16th (N1.3m), 17th (N1.25m), 18th (N1.2m), 19th (N1.05m) and the last-placed team N1m.

“The LMC will review the Merit Award prizes as we stabilize the League and grow the revenue base of the company to inspire the players towards higher quality performance and also engender healthy competition amongst the clubs,” Irabor added.

Kano Pillars, Bayelsa United and El-Kanemi Warriors are the three teams in the race for the N10m top prize. Enyimba FC has disclosed their intent to grab the second-placed team’s N7.5m prize as they look to make next season’s Caf Champions League.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here