Obudu Mountain Race: LOC Looks On to a New Course Record in the 2013 Edition.

The organisers of the Obudu International Mountain Race are hoping to achieve another milestone of a new course record in both the men and women’s event following last years impressive winning time.

The fastest time ever run over the new 12.3km course by a man was achieved by Ethiopia’s Abebe Dinkesa in 41 minutes and 50 seconds in 2012 while Eteneseh Diaro Neda holds the women’s 8.2km course record of one hour and 12 minutes also from last year.

The Cross River States Commissioner for Sports, Patrick Ugbe, expects the stellar line-up of champions for this year’s race at the Obudu Ranch to lead to a realistic improvement in the course record, perhaps an achievable sub-41 minutes for men and sub-60 minutes for women wouldn’t be far from target.

The LOC of the Obudu International Mountain Race Expects a New Course Record.
The LOC of the Obudu International Mountain Race Expects a New Course Record.

“With the coming of the reigning world champion, Philip Kiplimo of Uganda, who won the world title in Krynica Zdroj, Poland, last month with 54 minutes and 22 seconds over 13.56km course, the Local Organising Committee (LOC) for the Obudu Mountain Race is confident a new course record will be set this year,” Ugbe said.

The old course record for both men and women’s race is held by two Ethiopians, Adebe Dinkensa (41 minutes and and 45 seconds over 11.25km at the 2008 edition) and Genet Yalew (48.45 seconds in 2011) respectively.

The race, slated for November 23, is organised by the Cross River State Government in conjunction with the Athletic Federation of Nigeria (AFN) with supports from the African Athletics Confederation (CAA), the World Mountain Running Association (WMRA) and the International Association of Athletics Federation (IAAF).

The grand prize money for this year’s event is over $275,000 with the winner in the male and female category set to cart away $50,000 each, while $20,000 and $9,000 will go to the second and third-placed runners respectively.

The fourth-tenth-placed runners in each category goes home with $4,500, $4,000, $3,000, $2,500, $2000, $1,500 and $1,000.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here