2014 World Cup Draw: Nigeria Placed in Pot Two.

Nigeria have been placed in Pot Two along with the other four African sides and two South American teams for Friday’s World Cup draw at the Costa do Sauipe resort in Brazil.

The Super Eagles could face any of the top eight seeds from Pot One.

The final World Cup draw will be organised in a way that there will be no more that two European teams in any group of four countries, and all South American teams will be kept apart.

All the eight top seeds, one of each to be drawn in Groups A-H, will be placed inside Pot One.

2014 World Cup Draw Comes Up Friday 6 December 2013.
2014 World Cup Draw Comes Up Friday 6 December 2013.

A pre-draw will be held to move one of the nine unseeded European teams into Pot Two. That European team will then be drawn against one of the four seeded South American teams to preserve the geographical balance of the draw.

The four South American seeds: Brazil, Uruguay, Colombia and Argentina will form a temporary Pot X. The three teams not drawn against the European team in Pot Two will return to the main draw.

The four pots for Friday’s World Cup draw are:

Pot 1: Brazil, Belgium, Germany, Spain, Switzerland, Argentina, Colombia, Uruguay.

Pot 2: Algeria, Cameroon, Chile, Ivory Coast, Ecuador, Ghana, Nigeria.

Pot 3: Australia, Costa Rica, Honduras, Iran, Japan, Korea Republic, Mexico, USA.

Pot 4: Bosnia-Hercegovina, Croatia, England, France, Greece, Italy, Netherlands, Portugal, Russia.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here