Boris Becker Becomes Djokovic’s New Head Coach.

World number two Novak Djokovic has appointed six-time Grand Slam winner Boris Berker as his new coach.

The 26-year-old Serb announced on Wednesday that the German, who became the youngest Wimbledon champion ever (as a 17-year-old player), joins his long-time coach Marian Vadja, Miljan Amanovic and Gebhard Phil-Gristch.

He will start work with his new coach in the build up to the Australian Open, which starts on January 13.

Boris Becker Joins Djokovic's Coaching Crew.
Boris Becker Joins Djokovic’s Coaching Crew.

I am really excited to have the opportunity to work with Boris,” said Djokovic, who won only one Grand Slam in 2013. He is a true legend, someone who has great tennis knowledge and his experience will help me win new trophies from the Grand Slams and other tournaments.

“Boris brings new fresh approach, and together with Vajda he will make a winning combination. My goal for 2014 is to play my best tennis and to get in shape for the Grand Slams and Masters 1000.

“These tournaments have the most weight in our sport, and I want to prove my worth at them.”

Becker, 46, won 64 ATP titles in his playing days. He is a former world number one. He captured many other trophies like the Davies Cup and the Olympic doubles gold medal.

“I am proud Novak invited me to become his Head Coach. I will do my best to help him reach his goals, and I am sure we can achieve great things together”, Becker said.

Vadja, who has been with Djokovic since 2006, said they both decided to let Becker join the team.

“The team is now strengthened and we hope for maximum results,” Djokovic said.

Novak Djokovic Lost the 2013 Wimbledon Final to Briton, Andy Murray.
Novak Djokovic Lost the 2013 Wimbledon Final to Briton, Andy Murray.

Meanwhile, the 2011 Wimbledon champion has been named as the International Tennis Federation’s world champion for 2013 despite finishing the year ranked second in the world behind a resurgent Rafael Nadal.

American Serena Williams won the women’s award.

The awards are based on “an objective system that considers all results during the year, but gives special weight to the Grand Slam tournaments, the Davis Cup and the Fed Cup by BNP Paribas,” says the world tennis federation.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here