Three Zamfara Assembly PDP Members Defect To APC

APC-PDPThree members of the Zamfara State House of Assembly on Tuesday announced their defection from the People’s Democratic Party to the All Progressives Congress.

The members are Alhaji Mani Masamar-Mudi, representing Bukkuyum North Constituency; Alhaji Lawali Dogon-Kade of kaura Namoda South Constituency and Alhaji Umar Muazu, representing Maradun 2 constituency.

The lawmakers, who announced their defection at a sitting of the house in Gusau, said they had concluded arrangements to change their political lineage.

The News Agency of Nigeria reports that the number of APC members in the assembly has now increased from 13 to 16, while that of the PDP has reduced from 11 to 8 in the house, which has 24 members.

Alhaji Mani Masamar-Mudi, who spoke on behalf of the defectors, said their action was in line with provisions of the Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria, which allows party members to change their political party at any time if they so desire.

“We, as representatives of our people, have to follow the party that our people want,” he said, adding “we took the decision because we believe that the PDP is heading towards self-destruction”.

The Speaker of Zamfara Assembly, Alhaji Sunusi Rikiji, said the house had accepted the defection of the members because “it is in line with the provisions of the 1999 Constitution as amended”.

The Majority Leader of the House, Alhaji Salisu Tsafe, described the defection as “a new and welcome development’’ in the activities of the house, saying that it would increase the level of unity and understanding among the lawmakers.

Tsafe also said that they were in consultations with the remaining eight members of the PDP in the assembly, and “we are hoping for a positive response from them”.