The Votes: How Ronaldo Won 2013 Ballon d’Or

It emerged after Real Madrid forward Cristiano Ronaldo had won the coveted Ballon d’Or, that neither Ronaldo nor runner-up and winner since 2010, Lionel Messi, voted for the other in their top three.

The Portuguese selected Radamel Falcao for first place, followed by Gareth Bale and Mesut Ozil, while the Argentine opted for Barcelona team-mates Andres Iniesta, Xavi and Neymar.

England manager Roy Hodgson chose Ronaldo, Ibrahimovic and Robin van Persie as his top three, while captain Steven Gerrard picked Ronaldo, Messi and Liverpool team-mate Luis Suarez.

Nigeria’s Super Eagles’ stand-in captain Vincent Enyeama voted Messi, Ronaldo, Ribery as first, second, and third respectively, while Coach Stephen Keshi voted Yaya Toure, Ribery, and Luiz Suarez as his best three.

See full list of how national teams captains and coaches voted here

And here are the guys FIFA thought were the best in their positions last year.

Fifa world team of the year
Manuel Neuer (Bayern Munich)
Dani Alves (Barcelona)
Thiago Silva (PSG)
Sergio Ramos (Real Madrid)
Philipp Lahm (Bayern Munich)
Andres Iniesta (Barcelona)
Franck Ribery (Bayern Munich)
Xavi (Barcelona)
Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid)
Zlatan Ibrahimovic (PSG)
Lionel Messi (Barcelona)

Do you agree with FIFA on its XI?