“We Are Ready To Battle With PDP” – Amaechi Declares

The five Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) members who defected to the opposition All Progressives Congress are ready to meet the ruling party in court, the Rivers State Governor, Mr. Rotimi Amaechi, has said.


Amaechi made this known in Port Harcourt on Wednesday just as the PDP National Chairman, Bamanga Tukur, boasted that Amaechi and his colleagues would willingly return to the party soon.

The PDP had  last month asked an Abuja Federal High Court to sack the five governors. It also prayed the court to   order the houses of assembly of Adamawa, Rivers, Sokoto, Kano and Kwara states to commence impeachment proceedings against the governors.

The Rivers State governor ,who  featured in   a radio (95.1 FM, Port Harcourt) phone-in programme  in Port Harcourt, said they had hired reputable    lawyers to  battle with the PDP .

He recalled that many governors had in the  past left   other political parties and joined the PDP without being sacked by the courts.

Amaechi said, “Courts don’t impeach. But we are waiting. The courts’ position (in the past) is  very clear. Zamfara governor moved to the PDP and the court held that he had a right to move if there was a disagreement in  his party.

“The Bauchi State governor moved from ANPP(defunct All Nigerian Peoples Party)  to the PDP and another  court held that he had the right to move. Abia State  governor (Theodore Orji)  moved from Progressives Peoples Alliance  to the PDP and  Kebbi State  governor also  moved from the ANPP to the PDP. They are so many and the PDP was so happy absorbing them.

“Now that five of us have gone   and the chances of more governors moving to the APC appear to be there, the PDP is panicking. We are ready to meet them in court; we have hired lawyers and our lawyers can battle  with  them.”

But before Ameachi spoke,   Tukur told a team of Nigerian professionals   in Europe on Wednesday in London , that  measures being put in place by  the PDP leadership   and  President Goodluck Jonathan,  would encourage  those who defected from the ruling party to return on their own.

Although Tukur   did not mention the names of the defectors, he  apparently  had in mind,  the  five former- Amaechi, Abdulfatah Ahmed (Kwara);  Aliyu Wamakko (Sokoto);   Murtala Nyako (Adamawa); and Musa Kwankwaso (Kano).


Source: Punch Nigeria


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here