8 New GOCs, FOCs Appointed In Massive Armed Forces Shake-up


Following the appointment of a new Chief of Defence Staff, CDS, and other service chiefs, Chief of Army Staff, Lt. General KTJ Minimah and his naval counterpart, Vice Admiral Usman Jibrin, have carried out a massive reorganization in their services.

Consequently, the Army has redeployed 127 officers, including 36 major generals and 52 brigadier generals.

Five new General Officers Commanding, GOCs of Nigerian Army divisions were also appointed.


On the part of the Nigerian Navy, 75 officers were affected in the redeployment, including 29 rear admirals, 28 commodores and 18 captains and appointment of three new Flag Officers Commanding, FOCs, of the Nigerian Navy Commands.

The new General Officers Commanding the Nigerian Army divisions (GOCs) are Major General Kingsley Osuji, General Officer Commanding, 1 Infantry Division of the Nigerian Army; Major General EF Abejirin, GOC 2 Division, Ibadan; Major General JS Zaruwa, GOC 3 Division, Jos; Major General TI Dibi, GOC 81 Division, Lagos and Major General AT Yusuf, GOC 82 Division, Enugu.

The FOCs are Rear Admiral Peter Agba, Central Naval Command, Yenegoa; Rear Admiral SH Usman, Logistics Command, Oghara; and Rear Admiral Obiora Medani, FOC Eastern Naval Command, Calabar.

Also affected in the shake-up for the army are Brigadier General Mustapha Onoiveta, Chief of Staff to the Chief of Army Staff; Major General EB Awala, Chief of Training and Operations at Defence headquarters and Major General Gani Wahab, Chief of Administration, Army headquarters.

Others include Major General M.D. Abubakar, Commander Infantry Corps; Major General Suleiman Labaran, Commander, Electrical and Mechanical Engineers; Major General J.A.H. Ewansiha, Chief of Training and Operations; Major General Jack Nwaogbo, Chief of Policy and Plans; and Major General S.O. Adeosun, the Chief of Logistics. [Vanguard]



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here