House Of Reps Agog As 4 APC Lawmakers Defect To PDP


Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) has reclaimed majority in the House of Representatives after five lawmakers of the All Progressives Congress, (APC), Tuesday, defected to the party.

The lawmakers who defected are Lawal Shehu Bichi and Abdulsalam Adamu (Kano), Sani Umar and Ibrahim Shehu Gusau (Zamfara), and Umar Bature (Sokoto).

A PDP lawmaker from Kaduna State Rep Isa Mohammed Ashiru, however hugged the opposition, moving to the APC.

A rowdy seession followed the announcement of the lawmakers’ defection by Speaker Aminu Waziri Tabuwal, with some PDP lawmakers shouting “PDP, power! APC, shame!”

As it stands now, PDP has 178 members in the House, while APC’s initial 172 has been reduced to 168.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *