Basketball: DSTV PBL Begins Today

Must Read

Buhari Came Ahead Of His Time: Ex-Borno Governor

  The lawmaker representing Borno Central in the Senate, Kashim Shettima, has said that President Muhammadu Buhari came ahead of...

Send Your Children To School Or Be Prosecuted, El-Rufai Tells Parents

The Kaduna State Government, has said that parents who fail to send their children to school will face prosecution...

8 Killed In Fresh Lassa Fever Outbreak In Edo

  No fewer than eight persons have reportedly died in Edo state, following a fresh outbreak of Lassa fever in...

I Did Not Say Amotekun Is Illegal, Malami Makes U-Turn

The Attorney General of the Federation, Abubakar Malami has stated that his stand on Amotekun was misinterpreted. Read Also: Southwest Governors,...

Man Shoots Brother Dead Over Dog Meat

A man has reportedly murdered his brother over dog meat. The deceased, Attah Azimma died during a fight with his...
Omaku Cephas
Cephas is a Content Strategist who loves to write about travels and sports. He's a proud supporter of local publishers and wants to see them get more creative with genuine content. He's keen on rekindling your passion for anything sports and travels.

The Nigeria Premier Basketball League dunks off today with a host of mouthwatering clashes lined up for the opening weekend.

A ceremonial match on the newly acquired floor and upright donated by the title sponsors and media partner, DSTV, served as a curtain raiser for the 2013/14 season last week.

The 16-team basketball league of 15 weeks regular season will have eight teams from the Atlantic and Savannah Conferences each battling for a top four finish in their respective region.

The best four teams from either conference will be eligible for the season-ending National final 8 championship.

Kano Pillars are the Defendning Champions of the DSTV PBL.
Kano Pillars are the Defendning Champions of the DSTV PBL.

Savannah Conference

Defending Champions Kano Pillars will start their season against newly promoted Gombe Bulls at home in Kano, while Kada Stars of Kaduna will host Nigerian Immigration. The Peaks of Plateau state will lock horns with Bauchi Nets in the city of Jos. While last Seasons 4th placed team Mark Mentor will look to tangle the arms of the Potters of Niger in the Capital City of Abuja.

Atlantic Conference

Lagos Islanders will take on Customs at the national Stadium in Surulere, Lagos.

Last season’s new boys, Oluyole Warriors will be up against Police baton of Lagos in the replay of last week’s ceremonial game- which the Warriors won 69-62- at the Adamasingba Stadium in Ibadan.

The other 2 match ups in the conference will see last seasons 3rd placed team Dodan Warriors take on two time champions (in 2011 and 2012) Royal Hoopers of Port Harcourt.

The game between newly promoted Kwara Falcons and last seasons runner up Union Bank has been postponed to the 25th of March after 3 Falcons players were involved in a car crash on their way to training camp.

(Live matches will be televised on Supersport TV as from 4:00 pm)

- Advertisement -


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

More Articles Like This

- Advertisement -