Celtic Clinches Third Consecutive Scottish Premier League Title

Celtic sealed their 45th Scottish League title with seven more games to spare with a convincing 5-1 win at Partick Thistle on Wednesday.

A brace from Anthony Stokes, Liam Henderson, Stefan Johansen and Kris Commons helped the ‘Hoops’ down Thistle in an emphatic victory and a rather bold step to get going on reaching a century of points at the end of the campaign, having notched up 84 already.

It is Celtic’s third championship in a row, but the Glasgow side were knocked out of the two domestic cup competitions.

Celtic Players Celebrates Securing the SPL.
Celtic Players Celebrates Securing the SPL.

It is the earliest the title has been secured since Rangers won on 16 March in season 1928-29.

Manager Neil Lennon hailed his side’s display at the Firhill Stadium as a “simply breathtaking” way to emphasise their Scottish League dominance.

Lennon said: “it is in our DNA as a club to win championships and, since I’ve been involved in the club, that’s nine in 14 years.

“It was our priority and we wanted to improve on last year. This is unquestionably the best league campaign I’ve had as a manager.

“We are the title favourites every season, but we’ve been emphatic this year.”