Jonathan Appoints 25 Judges As Appeal Court Judges


President Goodluck Ebele Jonathan has approved the appointment of 25 Justices for the Court of Appeal.

According to a statement signed by the National Judicial Council’s (NJC) ‎Acting Director, Information, Mr Soji Oye, the appointment followed the recommendation of the council under the leadership of the Chief Justice of Nigeria, Mariam Mukhtar.

The appointment is in line with the new Court of Appeal (Amendment) Act which increased the number of justices of the court from Seventy (70) to Ninety (90) and the vacancies which were occasioned by the demise, retirement and elevation of some justices of the court to the Supreme Court.

‎The new appeal court justices are as include Justices Hamma Akawu Barka (Gombe State), Joseph Jude Jella (Taraba State), Bitrus G. Sanga (Bauchi State), Muhammed Mustapha (Borno State),Yargata Nimpar (Gombe State), Sa’idu Tanko Hussein (tKogi State), Mudashiru N. Oniyangi (Kwara State) and Amina Audi Wambai (Niger State).

Others are Justices Ridwan Maiwada Abdullahi (Nasarawa State), Tani Y. Hassan (Kano State), Muhammed Lawal Shuaibu (Jigawa State), Kadi Musa Hassan Alkali (Kaduna State), Jamilu Y. Tukur (Katsina State), Paul Obi Elechi (Ebonyi State), Ugochukwu A. Ogakwu (Enugu State), Nonyerem Okoronkwo (Imo State), Joseph E. Ekanem (Akwa Ibom State), F.E. Oho (Delta State), Abimbola O.O. Adejumo (Edo State).

The justices will be sworn-in by the CJN on Monday, 24th March, 2014 at 12 noon in the Supreme Court of Nigeria.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here