PDP Inaugurates State Elders and Caucus Committee In Oyo

pdp.jpgThe inauguration of the Oyo State Elders and Caucus Committee of the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, in Ibadan on Friday was boycotted by prominent chieftains of the party including Minister of State for FCT, Oloye Olajumoke Akinjide; Leader of the House of Representatives, Hon. Mulikat Akande-Adeola and former Oyo State governor, Otunba Adebayo Alao-Akala.

Other supposed members of the committee, who were absent from the inauguration ceremony, included a former Oyo State Deputy Governor, Taofeek Arapaja; Sen Hosea Agboola; Elder Wole Oyelese; Alh Bisi Olopoenia; Senator Gbenga Babalola and Hon. Folake Olunloyo-Oshinowo.

In his welcome address, the state PDP Chairman, Mr Yinka Taiwo, who performed the inauguration of committee members, charged them to unite and work together in order to strengthen the party’s quest to reclaim the state from the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC).

He said: “The goal of reclaiming Oyo State is possible. We can win most of the elective positions and control Oyo State come 2015, and that is because you are all joining hands to make it happen.

“I must tell you that we have been contacted by many people, upbraided by others and advised by many that the people of Oyo State are waiting for us to say the word PDP and they will embrace us because they now know what they lost in 2011. The people are earnestly waiting for the PDP and we must not let them down”.

Senator Lekan Balogun, who expressed delight at the inauguration of the committee, noted that its prolonged absence had been responsible for the crisis within the party.

According to him, “The opposition cannot withstand us if we are united. This committee will work towards harmonising ourselves. Let us allow the committee to do their best and they should also make themselves relevant”.

Members of the committee, who came for the inauguration include, former Senate Leader, Teslim Folarin; former Oyo State Deputy Governor, Alhaji Hazeem Gbolarumi; former military governor of Lagos and Ogun states, Gen. Raji Rasaki (rtd); Ambassador Yomi Akintola; Alhaji Yekini Adeojo; former Minister of Agriculture, Chief Bamidele Dada and a former Speaker of the state’s House of assembly, Alhaji Moruf Atilola.

Others include Oyo State House of Assembly Minority Leader, Alh Rauf Adekunle; Senator Kamoru Adedibu; Alh Bose Adedibu; Alh Dejo.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here