Chess: NCF Invites 50 Players for Chess Olympiad Trials

The Nigeria Chess Federation (NCF) has invited 50 players for the first stage of the trial to select players that will represent the country at the 41st World Chess Olympiad in Tromso, Norway in August this year.

The first stage of the trial, according to the Technical Director of the NCF, Bode Durotoye, come up at the Media Centre National Stadium in Lagos from 23rd-25th of this month.

The selection process was based on performance rating of chess players within a calendar year of rated tournaments and all the six gold medalist at the last National Sports Festival held in Lagos, says Durotoye. The list is is made up of 30 male and 20 female players.

One of the Invitees Oyeyemi John Fawole Shared First Place at the 2014 Gibraltar International Chess Festival.
One of the Invitees Oyeyemi John Fawole Shared First Place at the 2014 Gibraltar International ChesS Festival.

“We are using the Olympiad time control over eight round Swiss event pairing and Bucholz would be used to break the ties after which 10 players each from male and female will qualify for the final round of the trials which will come up in Ibadan next month,” Durotoye remarked last week.

The invited male players includes; Benjamin Omorere, Hakeem Edunwale, Kolade Onabogun, Onovughe Ochuko, Emmanuel Maduagwan, Oladapo Adu, Olamide Ajibowo, Igboloku,o Felix, Odion Aikhoje, Ademola Sorungbe, Dennis Ogbogho, Odum Martins, Rotimi Ajele, Oluwaseyitan Femi, Koko Obele, Efemuai Benedict, Joma Crim Chuks Okoh, Oyeyemi John Fawole, Bomo Kigigha, Olufemi Balogun, Eugene Ekpoikong, Bunmi Olape, Aniefiok Nekanem, Adeyinka Adesina, Tosin Akinwale, Biola Akinseye, Michael Ijisakin and George Erekosima.

In the female list are, Doris Adebayo, Ogechi Emmanuel, Nkem Omishogbon, Olabisi Rabiu, Mandy Enarevba, Omolabake Coker, Hafsat Bello-Osagie, Tobi Olatunji, Nsisong Asanga, Irene Ajibola, Modupe Fasola, Tiritfemuwa Ofowino, Blessing Davis, Millicent Aigbogho, Yemi Osundaikin, Beatrice Okwubor, Nneoma Aguta, Queen Princewill, Ada George Jica and Patience Sylvester all made the list of invited players for the trial.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here