Toure, Suarez, Gerrard, Sturridge Up for PFA Player of the Year Prize

Ivory Coast international, Yaya Toure, joins a trio of Liverpool players among six players nominated for the Professional Footballers’ Association’s player of the year award.

Luis Suarez, Steven Gerrard and Daniel Sturridge are three of the Premier League leaders’ players in line for an individual gong, with the Anfield club hoping to end a 24-year wait for a league title.

Chelsea’s Eden Hazard and Southampton’s Adam Lallana completes the list.

Hazard and Sturridge are also in line for the young player award, along with Liverpool’s Raheem Sterling, Arsenal’s Aaron Ramsey, Everton’s Ross barkley and Southampton’s Luke Shaw.

Yaya Toure Celebrates His Goal Against Manchester United at Old Trafford.
Yaya Toure Celebrates His Goal Against Manchester United at Old Trafford.

Suarez, 27, sits at the summit of the league scorers’ chart with 29 goals.

His partner on Liverpool’s frontline, Sturridge, 24, has scored nine less than the Uruguayan, while skipper, Gerrard, 33, has added 13 goals for the ‘Reds’.

Reigning Caf Player of the Year, Toure, 30, is Manchester City’s top league goal scorer with 18 strikes from 31 appearances.

Hazard, 23, have contributed 14 goals for Jose Mourinho’s ‘Blues family’.

Lallana has had an impressive season with the Saints, which culminated in a debut appearance for coach Roy Hodgson’s ‘Three Lions’ against Chile in November. The 25-year-old attacking midfielder has scored nine league goals for Southampton this season.