Brendan Rodgers Voted LMA Manager of the Year

Liverpool manager Brendan Rodgers has been named the League Managers’ Association manager of the year.

The Northern Irish boss, 41, guided the ‘Reds’ to a second-place Premier League finish- their best performance in five years- as well as helping the side return back to the Champions League.

The Anfield outfit were five points ahead in the title race before losing at home to Chelsea, followed by a disappointing 3-all draw with Crystal Palace, as they eventually finished the campaign two points behind winners Manchester City.

Liverpool's Eleven Successive Premier League Winning Streak is Their best in As Many Years.
Liverpool’s Eleven Successive Premier League Winning Streak is Their best in As Many Years.

“I was hoping I’d be on the open top bus tonight,” said Rodgers, who is the first Liverpool manager to win the award in its 20 years of existence.

Palace boss Tony Pulis was named Premier League manager of the year, while Leicester manager Nigel Pearson won the Sky Bet Football League Championship manager of the year award.

Pulis led the Eagles to 11th-place finish, having taken charge of the side towards the end of November while they sat six points above the drop zone.

Pearson led Leicester to next season’s Premier League with 102 points as they finished top of the Championship.

Kenny Jackett shared the League One award with Lleyton Orient’s Russel Slade, having led Wolves to clinching the third division title. Scunthrope’s Russ Wilcox was League Two manager of the Year.

Sheffield United’s Nigel Clough was named the FA Cup manager of the year.

The LMA manager of the year award is voted by all 92 bosses in the Premier League and Football League.