NIMC Captures Data Of 3 Million Nigerians

The National Identity Management Commission (NIMC) has disclosed that it has so far captured the data of about three million Nigerians who enrolled for the National Identification Number (NIN).

Director of Operations, Mrs Cecilia Yahaya, who disclosed this, stated that the commission had established over 200 new enrolment centres across the 36 states and the Federal Capital Territory (FCT), with plans to ensure that the newly-deployed enrolment centres increased the number of their daily enrolments from 60,000 to 100,000.

She stated that enrolment exercises in these centres for the NIN had kick-started 10 weeks ago, adding that this was to ensure that the deployment of all enrolment infrastructure based on global best practices was done expeditiously to enable NIMC to meet the presidential directive of December 31, 2014.

Mrs Yahaya said some of the enrolment centres were located in the following local government areas: Alimosho, Eti-Osa, Lekki, Agege, Army Barracks Ojo, Ipaja in Lagos state. Others are Akpabuyo, Odukpani, Biase, Ogoja, etc., in Cross River State; Gerei, Minchika, Song and Mayobelwa in Adamawa State; Nnewi North, Onisha North and South, Anoacha, and Ogbaru in Anambra State.

Other centres, according to her, were Kano Municipal, Madoni, Kura, Wudil, Gezawa Tarauni in Kano State; Alkaleri, Dass, Toro, Katagun in Bauchi; Ivo, Ishilu, Izzi in Ebonyi State and others.

Mrs Yahaya added that a number of enrolment centres had also been opened in more tertiary institutions nationwide, which according to her, included University of Ilorin, IBB University Lapai, FUTMinna Permanent and Temporary Campus, University of Benin, University of Calabar, Maritime Academy, Covenant University, Crawford University, University of Kastina, Kaduna Polytechnic, Federal Polytechnic Birnin Kebbi, Federal polytechnic Ibadan, Ladoke University of Tech, Ahmadu Bello University Zaria.