Murray Begins Wimbledon Defence Against Unseeded Belgian Goffin

Wimbledon champion Andy Murray will start the defence of his title against Belgium’s David Goffin.

Murray broke a 77-year long hoodoo on British players participating in the third Grand Slam of the year, when he clinched his fourth Majors title at the All England Club in 2013.

The Scot, who recently began working with Frenchwoman Amelie Mauresmo, will be seeded third, two places higher than his world ranking owing to his success on grass over the last couple years.

Murray beat Novak Djokovic to Win the 2013 Wimbledon Final.
Murray beat Novak Djokovic to Win the 2013 Wimbledon Final.

Top seed Novak Djokovic will be up against Kazakhstan Andrey Gobulev while Rafael Nadal take on Martin Klizan and seven-time winner Roger Federer starts against Italian Paolo Lorenzi.

Women’s singles top seed Serena Williams opens against Anna Tatishvilli and second seed Li Na play Paula Kania.

French Open champion Maria Sharapova gets British wildcard Samantha Murray while British number one Heather Watson face Alja Tomljanovic.

Murray and world number one Nadal have been drawn on opposite half, meaning they could not clash before the final. The 27 year old open play on Centre Court on Monday (first day of the championship).

Last year’s losing finalist, Djokovic, could again cross Murray’s part in the semi-finals, while Spain’s David Ferrer or Queen’s Club champion Grigor Dimitrov are prospective quarter-finals opponent for the Serbian.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here