17 Lawyers Conferred With SAN Awards

Seventeen distinguished Nigerian legal practitioners were Friday conferred with the title of Senior Advocate of Nigeria (SAN) by the Legal Practitioners’ Privileges Committee (LPPC).

Mr Sunday Olorundahunsi, the LPPC Secretary and Chief Registrar of the Supreme Court, announced this while briefing newsmen at the Supreme Court.

He said that the committee found the awardees worthy for the title at the end of its general meeting held in Abuja on Friday.

According to him, out of an initial 109 legal practitioners that applied, 23 were shortlisted before the final confirmation of the new Senior Advocates.

He explained that two academicians made the final list and no female lawyer got the award this year, although three of them had applied.

The chief registrar said that this year’s award process was very rigorous, adding that the provisions of the LPPC were strictly adhered to in the selection process.

He said that the awardees would be inaugurated at the beginning of the new legal year in September.

The new Senior Advocates are: Dr Olu Onagoruwa (OFR), Prof. Joash Amupitan, Mr Olusola Idowu, Dr Ernest Ojukwu, Mr Ahamefula Ejelam, Chief George Onyemenam and Mr Tawo Eja Tawo.

Others are Mr Olatunde Adejuyigbe, Mr Sylvanus Ogwemoh, Dr Adewale Olawoyin, Dr Joshua Olatoke, Mr Teslim Busari, Mr Kevin Nwufo, Dr Amuda-Kannike Abiodun, Mr Oluwakemi Balogun, Mr Hakeem Afolabi and Mr Gerald Ezeuko. [NAN]


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here