We’ll No Longer Beg Obasanjo, Oyinlola, Others To Remain In PDP – Fayose

AYO-FAYOSEThe South West Organisation and Mobilisation Committee of the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, on Wednesday said there were no longer factions in the party.

Addressing a rally organised in Ibadan on Wednesday, the governor-elect of Ekiti, Ayodele Fayose, also said the party would no longer beg those desirous of leaving.

“Any member of the party who feels like leaving the party is free to go to another one.

“This is the last time that any member of the party, irrespective of his position, whether former governor or president, will be begged to remain in the party.

“If they want to join other parties, they can go. They should not disparage the party again because if they do, they will go.

“They have enjoyed benefits in the party, so they should respect the party, whether former president or senator.

“I left the party when I had misunderstanding with it and returned when we resolved our differences. The door is open for them to leave”, said Fayose.

Fayose, who also promised that the best candidate would emerge from all the state primaries, said: “I am the only person in Nigeria to have achieved the feat of defeating two incumbent governors; so I am in a position to give advice on how to achieve victory at the polls.

“We will defeat APC in Oyo State and other South-West states with the support of the people.

“Our business in government is to perform and give due recognition to the grassroots.

“APC has wasted the opportunity it has to perform by neglecting the grassroots people.

“Elections are not won by propaganda, but at the grassroots level, if Ekiti can do it, Oyo people can do the same”, Fayose said.

Also speaking at the rally, a former governor of Oyo State, Otunba Adebayo Alao-Akala, said the forum was meant to demonstrate the PDP’s determination to win the state in 2015.

He urged the people of the state to support the party in future elections in order to ensure the delivery of democracy dividends.

PDP chieftains at the rally included the Chairman of the committee, Buruji Kashamu, and the Oyo State chairman of the party, Yinka Taiwo.

Governorship aspirants at the rally were Hazeem Gbolarumi, Femi Babalola, Seyi Makinde, Teslim Folarin and Kehinde Olaosebikan as well as thousands of party members. (NAN)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here