Crystal Palace Name Warnock New Boss

Crystal Palace have announced Neil Warnock as their new manager on a two-year contract.

The 65-year-old returns to the Selhurst Park club he managed between 2007 and 2010 to succeed Tony Pulis, who abruptly left on the eve of the season amid report of a disagreement with co-chairman Steve Parish.

“Crystal Palace are delighted to announce that Neil Warnock has been appointed as their new first-team manager with immediate effect,” The English Premier League announced on their official website.

“Neil has agreed a two-year deal and will lead the team this Saturday in our Premier League game at Newcastle United.”

Neil Warnock Named New Eagles Coach.
Neil Warnock Named New Eagles Coach.
Neil Warnock Named New Eagles Coach.
Neil Warnock Named New Eagles Coach.

Warnock led the ‘Eagles’ to the Championship play-offs in the first season of his previous spell and went on to win 47 of his 129 games, before leaving after financial problems saw the south London club placed into administration in 2010. He has not managed a club since leaving Leeds United in 2013.

Palace have had five other permanent managers since he left the club. Dougie Freedman- the third at the helm, following his departure- is the longest-serving manager in the period with 90 matches.

Warnock has been favoured ahead of former West Bromwich Albion manager Steve Clarke for the job, after talks with Malky Mackay collapsed.

Tony Pulis was named the Premier League’s Manager of the Year after saving the club from a very certain relegation scenario last season. But he left the club “by mutual consent” 48 hours before the start of the new season.

Palace lost their opening day fixture 2-1 to Arsenal before last weekend’s 3-1 defeat by West Ham at home. They won 3-0 at Watford in the League Cup second round on Tuesday, in Keith Millen’s third game as caretaker manager.

Warnock subsequently joined Queens Park Rangers in 2010, guiding the club to promotion as Championship champions in 2011, before being sacked in January 2012.