Ekiti: Fayose Dissolves Boards, Sacks LG Chairmen

Ekiti State Governor Ayodele Fayose has approved the dissolution of caretaker administrations of 35 local governments and Local Council Development Areas, LCDAs (16 LGs and the 19 LCDAs), in the state.

The government made this known in a statement signed by the Chief Press Secretary to the State Governor, Mr Idowu Adelusi, which said that all the 35 council chairmen along with their secretaries and other members of caretaker committees have been relieved of their appointments. All boards of parastatals, agencies and commissions have also been dissolved.

The statement therefore directed all the affected caretaker chairmen to immediately hand over to the directors of administration in their respective council areas.

The caretaker chairmen had been in control of the 16 council areas throughout the four year tenure of Governor Kayode Fayemi, who left office on Thursday. He had also appointed caretaker committees for the 19 LCDAs just days after he lost to Fayose in the June 21 governorship election in the state. His attempt to hold council election in the 16 councils on Feb. 4, 2011 had been halted by the state High Court ruling following a suit filed by the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) in the state that alleged that some of the members of the State Independent Electoral Commission were card carrying members of the the ruling party at the time.

The dissolution of the councils administrations by Fayose, may not be unexpected as he had during his inaugural speech vowed not to uphold any creations, appointments and promotions effected after Fayemi lost the June 21 election.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here