Maku, Chukwu, Wike, 4 Others To Quit Jonathan’s Cabinet

The Federal Executive Council yesterday held a valedictory session for seven ministers set to resign their positions to contest the governorship of their states in the 2015 elections.

President Goodluck Jonathan, who presided over the session, noted that the seven ministers might not be in attendance at the next FEC meeting as they were expected to resign their positions before going for the primaries. He lauded the ministers’ meritorious service to the nation.

“If you are in PDP and you are a public officer or you are a civil servant, if you have to go into an elective office you have to disengage on or before 20th of this month,” explained Jonathan.

“Going by that, that means that any of our colleagues who has the interest to contest any level of election, may not be with us the next council day, that is next Wednesday.

“As we are talking, nobody has written and we have not dropped anybody; people should not say we have dropped ministers.

“Those that may not be with us next Wednesday are Minister of Information, Labaran Maku; Minister of Health, Prof. Onyeabuchi Chukwu; Minister of State, Education, Mr. Nyesom Wike; Minister of State Industry, Trade, Investment, Dr Samuel Ortom; Minister of State Defence, Senator Musiliu Obanikoro, Minister of State Niger Delta Affairs, Arch. Dairus Dickson Ishiaku and Minister of Labour and Productivity, Emeka Wogu.

“Assuming they change their mind, they may join us. It is only good that we will wish them well in their future endeavours, having served this country meritoriously,” President Jonathan said.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *