Pillars Win Third Successive Glo Premier League Title

Kano Pillars are champions of the Nigeria Professional Football League (NPFL) for a third straight season following a 4-0 win over Nembe City on Sunday as their closest rivals Enyimba failed to beat Dolphins.

The ‘Peoples Elephants’ could only earn a point from their Match Day 37 fixture courtesy of a 1-1 draw in Port-Harcourt.

With an unassailable 65 points and with just a game to go, 2012 and 2013 champions, Pillars, have now surged four points clear of Enyimba. They will face the Aba outfit on the road in their final game of the season and, even a win for the six-time winners cannot stop the ‘Sai Masu Gida’ from completing a third successive league triumph.

Congrats! Kano Pillars Are Nigerian Champions Again.
Congrats! Kano Pillars Are Nigerian Champions Again.

At the Kano Pillars Stadium, first half goals by Gambo Mohammed and Azeez Shobowale cleared early nerves as the hosts took a 2-0 lead into the interval, before Adamu Hassan added a brace in the second-half to help secure an emphatic win over the bottom-placed side.

Chidiebere Okolie’s 51st-minute curling strike gave Dolphins the lead at the Liberation Stadium, but Mfon Udoh drew the visitors level in the 76th minute.

Udoh’s equaliser saw him set a new record for most goals in a single Nigerian League season, beating the previous record set by Jude Aneke three seasons ago.

Defending and champions-elect Pillars now leads Glo Premier League charges to next year’s Caf Champions League along with the eventual second-placed side.

The third-placed team will participate in 2015 Caf Confederation Cup. Warri Wolves, Nasarawa United and Abia Warriors are yet in contention for a place in either of the continental championships but must win their respective last day games and hope Enyimba lose at home to Pillars.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *