Sambo Expresses ‘Humility’ At Submitting Jonathan’s PDP Presidential Nomination Form

Adamu Mu'azu-Namadi Sambo

Vice President Namadi Sambo on Friday submitted President Goodluck Jonathan’s presidential nomination and expression of interest forms to the national leadership of the Peoples Democratic Party.

The forms are to enable Mr. Jonathan contest the presidential primary of the party against other interested aspirants, as a matter of formality, since he has already been adopted by the National Working Committee of PDP as its sole candidate. The primary is scheduled for December 10 and 11 in Abuja.

Friday was the last date for the submission of all nomination forms sold by the party.

While submitting the form, Sambo said that he was happy that his boss had transformed the country since he assumed office.

Directing his remark at Mu’azu, the VP said, “Our President has moved the country forward by transforming it economically. It is therefore with great humility that I’m presenting to you these forms.

“You will help us present it to the members of the National Working Committee”, he added.

Sambo, thereafter, handed over the forms to Mu’azu, who in turn handed them over to the National Organising Secretary, Alhaji Abubakar Mustapha.

Responding, Mustapha said he was happy to be part of history by collecting the forms, and prayed God to grant the party and the candidate success during the 2015 presidential election.

In his reaction, Mu’azu reiterated the decision of the party to make President Jonathan the sole candidate of the party, adding that the endorsement given to him was a “sign of confidence by men and women in the party and in the country”.

Those who accompanied Sambo to the national secretariat of the PDP in Abuja included the Senate President, David Mark; Deputy Senate President, Ike Ekweremadu; Deputy Speaker, House of Representatives, Emeka Ihedioha and the Secretary to the Government of the Federation, Sen. Pius Anyim.

Governors of Akwa Ibom, Gombe and Bayelsa States were also in attendance with some members of the Federal Executive Council.