German World Cup-Winning Striker, Muller Nominated for World XI

Thomas Muller is the only German forward from the World Cup-winning squad included in a 15-man shortlist of forwards for the 2014 Fifa/FIFPro World XI.

Fifa and FIFPro- the World Players’ Union- revealed the names of 15 forwards to complete a 55-man nominees for the 2014 World XI.

Three of these attackers will join the best goalkeeper from a five-man shortlist, along with four defenders and three midfielders in the 2014 Fifa/FIFPro World XI.

Thomas Mueller and Captain Philip Lahm Celebrates After Germany's Victory Over Portugal. Image: Getty.
Thomas Mueller and Captain Philip Lahm Celebrates After Germany’s Victory Over Portugal. Image: Getty.

The Fifa/FIFPro World XI, voted for by tens of thousands professional footballers worldwide will be unveiled on 14 January at the Fifa Ballon d’Or awards at the Kongresshaus, in Zurich.

The Bayern Munich forward is joined by Borussia Dortmund’s Marco Reus, who missed out on the campaign through injury.

German champions Bayern are the most represented side in the shortlist with three other players alongside Mueller in Robert Lewandowski, Franck Ribery and Arjen Robben.

Reigning Uefa champions league holders Real Madrid have three nominees- Gareth Bale, Cristiano Ronaldo and Karim Benzema.

Uruguay striker Luis Suarez is one of three Barcelona players to have made the shortlist. The others are Lionel Messi and Neymar.

The three faces from the English Premier League are Manchester City’s Sergio Aguero, Manchester United striker Wayne Rooney and prolific Chelsea goalscorer Diego Costa.

Paris St-Germain and Sweden forward Zlatan ibrahimovic is the only nominee from the French Ligue 1.

Fifa/FIFPro World XI forward shortlist full list;

Sergio Aguero (Argentina, Manchester City)

Gareth Bale (Wales, Real Madrid)

Karim Benzema (France, Real Madrid)

Diego Costa (Spain, Chelsea)

Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal, Real Madrid)

Zlatan Ibrahimovic (Sweden, Paris St-Germain)

Robert Lewandowski (Poland, Bayern Munich)

Lionel Messi (Argentina, Barcelona)

Thomas Muller (Germany, Bayern Munich)

Neymar (Brazil, Barcelona)

Marco Reus (Germany, Borussia Dortmund)

Arjen Robben (The Nertherlands, Bayern Munich)

Franck Ribery (France, Bayern Munich)

Wayne Rooney (England, Manchester United)

Luis Suarez (Uruguay, Barcelona)