Jonathan, Buhari, Lead 11 Other Presidential Candidates Into 2015 Elections

2015-electionThe Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC, at the weekend released the list of presidential candidates for the 2015 elections.

According to the list, only 13 political parties would field presidential candidates in the 2015 presidential elections.

The parties and their candidates are the People Democratic Party, Dr. Goodluck Jonathan; the All Progressives Congress, Maj.-Gen. Muhammadu Buhari (retd.); Action Alliance, Tunde Anifowose-Kelani; Kowa Party, Prof. Oluremi Sonaiya; United Progressives Party; Chief Chekwas Okorie; and National Conscience Party, Chief Martin Onovo.

Others are African Democratic Congress, Dr. Ibrahim Nani; United Democratic Party, Godson Okoye; Alliance for Democracy, Rafiu Salau; Peoples Party of Nigeria, Kelvin Alagoa; Allied Congress Party of Nigeria, Alhaji Ganiyu Oseni; African Peoples Alliance, Alhaji Adebayo Ayeni; and Hope Democratic Party, Ambrose Owuru.

The Chief Press Secretary to INEC Chairman, Mr. Kayode Idowu, said: “We have complied with the law; we have published the list of all the presidential candidates in all the states of the Federation. For other elective offices, the lists will be published in their constituencies and senatorial districts as applicable”.

The commission further enjoined Nigerians to screen the particulars of the candidates and raise issues if they think any candidate should be disqualified.

INEC said: “The personal particulars are displayed in all the state and local government offices of the commission in the constituencies of the candidates.

“Any person who has reasonable grounds to believe that any information given by any candidate is false or that the candidate is not qualified or is disqualified from contesting the elections should notify the commission in writing within seven days of this publication”.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here