All Serving PDP Governors Win Senatorial Tickets

Akwa Ibom State Governor, Godswill Akpabio
Akwa Ibom State Governor, Godswill Akpabio

Akwa Ibom State Governor Godswill Akpabio and his counterparts in other state, who vied for the Senatorial tickets of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) have won their bid as the party conduct primaries across the country.

The chairman of the PDP Governors’ Forum emerged the unopposed Senatorial candidate of the party for Ikot Ekpene zone. The incumbent, Senator Aloysius Etuk had earlier stepped down for him following numerous consultations held with major stakeholders in Ini and Ikono Federal Constituency.

In Uyo Senatorial District, former governorship aspirant, Obong Bassey Albert beat the incumbent, Senator Ita Enang to clinch the ticket. Nelson Effiong, former Speaker of the Akwa-Ibom State House of Assembly, won in Eket Senatorial District.

Plateau State Governor Jonah Jang got 273 votes to emerge as the PDP Senatorial candidate for Plateau North Senatorial zone. He defeated former Ambassador to Ukraine, Ibrahim Kasai who scored 18 votes.

Gift Cards

Governor Theodore Orji of Abia State won the party’s ticket for Abia Central unopposed. He scored a total of 221 votes, while Benue State Governor Gabriel Suswam also won the party’s ticket for the Benue North East Senatorial seat.

Another governor who could have contested the primaries was Delta State Governor Emmanuel Uduaghan who earlier dropped his bid for the sake of peace.’


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here