Tennis: Williams, Djokovic Named ITF Singles World Champions

Novak Djokovic and Serena Williams have won the 2014 International Tennis Federation Champions award.

The ITF senior World Champions prize is given out based on performances during the year, but with special consideration to the Grand Slam tournaments, and the two ITF international team competitions, Davis Cup and Fed Cup.

ITF President Francesco Ricci Bitti said: “All of our World Champions have demonstrated great consistency at the top of the game in one of the strongest eras for our sport.

“Serena Williams is one of the toughest competitors of all-time, while Novak Djokovic’s performances at the biggest events make him a deserving winner.”

It is the fourth time Serbia’s Djokovic , 27, is named World Champion having won seven trophies during the season, including Indian Wells, Miami, Rome, Beijing, Paris, Wimbledon and at the Barclays ATP World Tour Finals, and the year-end No. 1 ranking for the third time in four years.

Novak Djokovic With the Barclays ATP World Tour No. 1 Trophy at London's O2 Arena. Image: Clive Brunskill/Getty Images.
Novak Djokovic With the Barclays ATP World Tour No. 1 Trophy at London’s O2 Arena. Image: Clive Brunskill/Getty Images.

Williams, 33, is the oldest player in history to be named an ITF Singles World Champion. The American claims the award for the fifth time following another worthwhile campaign in which she won her 18th Majors title at the US Open to tie Martina Navratilova and Chris Evert in achievement, maintaining the No. 1 ranking throughout the year. She won a total of seven titles this season, including the season-ending WTA Finals.

Williams said: “I’m so honoured to be named ITF World Champion for the fifth time. I’m grateful to have the support of the tennis community in every way possible. I can’t wait for 2015.”

The ITF World Champions will receive their awards at the ITF World Champions Dinner on Tuesday 2 June, in Paris, during Roland Garros.

Other winners are:

Men’s Doubles World Champions – Bob and Mike Bryan (USA)

Women’s Doubles World Champions – Sara Errani and Roberta Vinci (ITA)

Girls World Champion – Catherine “CiCi” Bellis (USA)

Boys World Champion – Andrey Rublev (RUS)

Men’s Wheelchair World Champion – Shingo Kunieda (JPN)

Women’s Wheelchair World Champion – Yui Kamiji (JPN)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here