Ogun Police Allegedly Arrests 5 APC Members Over Plans To Defect To PDP

Must Read

Chelsea Consolidates On 4th Spot With Victory Over Tottenham At Stamford Bridge

Chelsea moves 4 points away from fifth placed Tottenham after defeating the latter two goals to one at Stamford...

Hanan Buhari: I Didn’t Ask DSS To Arrest Man Using Phone Line I Previously Owned

Daughter of president Muhammadu Buhari, Hannah has vehemently denied asking the Department of State Services (DSS) to arrest and...

Insurgency: What I Told Leah Sharibu’s Father: Saraki

Former Senate President of Nigeria, Senator Bukola Saraki has revealed that he spoke to Daniel Sharibu, father of Leah...

Nigerian Newspaper Headlines Today: 22nd February 2020

No Going Back On Social Media Regulation - Lia Mohammed The Minister of Information and Culture, Lai Mohammed has stated that the...

I Have No Intention Of Joining Coronavirus Infected APC: Fayose

Former governor of Ekiti state, Peter Ayodele Fayose has stated that he has no intention of joining the ruling...


Men of the Ogun State Police command, Thursday, allegedly arrested five councillors from Ijebu North East and Odogbolu LGAs, out of the 100 local government councillors in the state, after it was rumoured that they planned to leave the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC) to join the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP).

The arrested councillors were reported by Vanguard to have said to be on their way to the PDP secretariat, the venue of the defection in Atan, the headquarters of Ijebu North East Local Government Area, when the bus they were travelling in was accosted by about eight armed policemen around Ogbogbo.

Vanguard quoted a source as telling a Vanguard correspondent that no fewer than 100 APC local government councillors across the state had concluded plans to defect to the opposition PDP in their various areas.

The councillors were also said to have already met the PDP leadership in the state and had concluded arrangements on when they would formally defect in each of the 20 local government areas of the state.

The unidentified policemen arrested councillors including Hon. Dele Talabi (Ward 6), Rufus Onadega (Ward 2), Hon. Rosanwo (Ward 9), and Hon. Ajayi (Ward 5). Vanguard reported that the name of the fifth councillor believed to be from Odogbolu Local Government could not be ascertained immediately.

The state Publicity Secretary of the APC, Alhaji Sola Lawal has however dismissed the allegation. “That cannot be true. We are not aware of that; that is not to our knowledge,” he said.

Police Public Relations Officer, Muyiwa Adejobi also said that he was not aware of the arrest of the five APC councillors.

- Advertisement -
Ad ==> Discover how a young Nigerian graduate now makes a consistent 40k per week doing a legitimate online business. You too can start yours now, click here!!!


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

More Articles Like This

- Advertisement -