Supersand Eagles Camp Opens In Badagry This Weekend

Training camp of the Nigeria Beach Soccer National Team begins in Lagos on Saturday ahead of an African Beach Soccer Championship qualifying fixture against Libya in March.

Coach of the Supersand Eagles, Audu Adamu Ejo, has invited 20 players for camping activities, also targeted towards preparing the squad for the two-day Power Horse Invitational Tournament in Durban, South Africa starting 6 March.

The technical crew of the team will pick 12 players from the invited 20 to represent Nigeria in Durban.

Supersand Eagles Players Taking the National Anthem During the 2013 Copa Lagos. Image: Copa Lagos.
Supersand Eagles Players Taking the National Anthem During the 2013 Copa Lagos. Image: Copa Lagos.

The first leg of the continental championship qualifying tie with Libya comes up at the Elegushi Beach, Lekki Phase 1, Lagos, on 14 March. The return leg is scheduled for Tripoli six days later.

Nigeria are one of nine nations drawn bye in the first round qualifiers, which took place last weekend. The Supersand Eagles are involved in qualifiers for the first time.

The 2015 African Beach Soccer Championship is scheduled for Seychelles between 14 to 19 April.

The qualifying fixtures also set Madagascar against South Africa, Senegal to play the winner between Mali and Tunisia, Morocco to face the winner between Djibouti and Sudan, Ghana to play the winner between Cameroon and Uganda, Egypt to trade tackles with the winner between Kenya and Tanzania and Cote d’Ivoire up against the winner between Mauritius and Mozambique.

Invited players:

Goalkeepers: Oladipo Olalekan (Owibeseb FC, Lagos); Ehibhi Festus (Bridge Boys, Lagos); Ndubuisi Maduji (Stationery Stores, Lagos)

Defenders: Chinedu Richard (Eko Abete, Lagos); Emmanuel Ohweferi (Owibeseb, Lagos); Victor Talle Shinene (Confluence, Kogi); Idowu Olatunbosun (Enyimba, Aba); Atiku Sulaimon Dayo (Leads United, Lagos); Lati Sani (Bridge Boys, Lagos); Ogunjobi Kamoru (My People FC, Lagos); Isiaka Lawal (Leads United)

Strikers: Bartholomew Ibenegbu (Warri Wolves FC); Abu Azeez (Warri Wolves); Emeka Ogbonna (Leads United); Badmus Babatunde (Owibeseb, Lagos); Jamal Akewusola (Badagry Beach Soccer Team); Samad Kadiri (Union Bank); Edwin Opawe (My People FC); Okeke Leonard (My People FC); Akintunde Idowu (Owibeseb)